Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Become a Member
Latest News: NALBOH News

Message from the President, Christina Dokter

Saturday, January 20, 2018   (0 Comments)
Share |

Message from incoming President

We begin this exciting year with renewed interest in public health governance.  We welcomed three new Board of Directors: Sharon Stanley, Michael Mclaughlin and Andrew Quarnstrom.  They received a pre-recorded online orientation about the 6 functions of governance, the website, the strategic plan for 2018, membership targets for 2018, webinars, and of course, the annual conference.

Certainly we are in challenging times, and such times call for uncommon ways of thinking about problem solving.  I am challenging the NALBOH Board of Directors to become a learning organization that engages in complex adaptive thinking and leadership.  We will be working within committees fashioned in a matrix pattern.  Learning within teams is part of adaptive behavior.   I trust that many of you in your local Board of Health are also learning and preparing to protect the health of communities before problems occur.

We have the following committees and chairs for 2018:

  1. Bylaws Committee: Judy Sartucci
  2. Conference Planning Committee: Barbara Ann Hughes
  3. Education Committee: Sharon Stanley
  4. Emeritus Committee: Ron Burger
  5. Executive Committee: Christina Dokter
  6. Finance Committee: John Novak
  7. Long-term Planning Committee: Margaret Brink
  8. Nominating Committee: Barbara Ann
  9. State Leaders/State Association for Local Boards of Health: Meghan Swain

We anticipate seeing many of you at the annual conference in Raleigh, NC, August 8-10, 2018.

I look forward to being your 2018 President!